Marijuana laws have undergone drastic changes over the past decade in California and the entire United States. Many states have decriminalized possession of recreational marijuana and legalized the use of the drug for medical reasons.
In Sacramento and the entire State of California, adults over the age of 21 can purchase, possess and consume up to 28.5 grams of marijuana in an establishment licensed for marijuana consumption or in their private residence. Those found in violation of these laws may be imprisoned in a county jail for up to 6 months or fined up to $500. These laws came into effect after voters approved Proposition 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act of 2016.
However, licensing to produce and sell recreational marijuana began in January 2018.
Anyone who wants to engage in commercial cannabis activity must obtain requisite licenses outlined in the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act. Growers and distributors are required by law to pay a 15% excise and a cultivation tax.
The Bureau of Cannabis Control (BCC) is tasked with the licensing of retailers, distributors, testing labs and microbusinesses. The state also controls what activities are permitted in their jurisdiction. Sale of Cannabis without a valid license can result in up to 6 months in jail and/or fines up to $500.
Other additional limitations include smoking or ingesting cannabis in public, smoking or ingesting while operating a vehicle and possessing an open container while operating or riding as a passenger in a vehicle.
Anyone who wants to obtain the licenses can visit BCC’s website.