California Driving and Alcohol Regulations
California’s alcohol beverage laws can impact people in many different ways. A person aged 21 years and above might offer alcohol to a minor and think they are good friends. However, a conviction for this crime can be very harmful. The offense can keep the person from being a teacher, law enforcement officer, lawyer, social worker, etc.
Sacramento alcohol law only allows adults to work as bartenders or servers at venues that sell alcoholic beverages for drinking on-site. Stores do not have an age requirement for selling alcohol for consumption off-site, but a manager should always be present.
California laws only allow people less than 21 years of age to have alcohol in private areas with the guidance of a parent, guardian, or spouse aged 21 or older except in vehicles. It is not legal in California for those less than 21 years of age to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of more than 0.01%.
Retailers are allowed to sell alcoholic beverages by the drink or package from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. of the following day. But they are prohibited from selling to habitual drunkards, obviously intoxicated persons and those less than 21 years of age. Retailers are not also supposed to employ persons with clothing that exposes the cleft of the buttocks, or any portion of the female breast below the top of the areola. Selling powdered alcohol is also prohibited by California laws.
It is illegal for persons less than 21 years of age to buy, or attempt buying, any alcoholic beverage. But they can be allowed to buy to assist police in entrapping clerks. California alcohol beverage laws also prohibit anyone from knowingly buying alcoholic beverages between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. It is also a criminal offense for persons below the age of 21 to drink alcohol.
Restaurant customers can take home partially consumed bottles of wine. This law is to discourage over-drinking to avoid wastage of the remaining wine.
It is a violation of California liquor laws to drive while impaired. This can result from too much consumption of alcohol from any source. The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits vary. The concentration is 0.08% or higher for motorists aged 21 or older, 0.01% for those under 21 or DUI probation, and 0.04% for the commercial drivers.